Who Are You Again?

I came across this quote in a review of ‘Never Eat Alone’ on Amazon UK:

I don’t know who you are.
I don’t know your company.
I don’t know what your company stands for.
I don’t know your company’s customers.
I don’t know your company’s products.
I don’t know your company’s reputation.
Now – what was it you wanted to sell me?

– quoted in the book as Harvey Mackay in Swim With The Sharks.

This rang a bell with me as some people I come across think that once you’ve thought up (and actually produced) an offering then the job’s more-or-less done.

Everything else will then (magically) take care of itself, especially in these globally-connected times.

It’s true that clever ideas can now be promoted far more quickly than previously (especially due to the plethora of free tools) but some people-oriented basics still remain the same:

Who are you and why should I do business with you?

Leave a Reply

