Words On The Web

internet-browsing-stats

Some revealing attention span and internet browsing statistics can be found here (see sample above, click to enlarge).

On the topic of skimming and grabbing attention, this page is refreshing in it’s simplicity and for getting it’s point over. However, it’s hard to believe that the core idea, however admirable, is widely believed or acted upon:

At its heart, web design should be about words. Words don’t come after the design is done. Words are the beginning, the core, the focus.

In spirit, it reminded me a bit of Fish, the inventive and free iPhone app that spotlights the (enormous) difference between liking (= reading) and loving (= rereading) material on the web.

Most material is cursorily skimmed of course, so neither liked nor loved!

I sometimes buy (physical) newspapers. In an analagous manner,  it’s interesting that when I scan/read the pages I’ve noticed that I’ve trained my eyes to avoid all adverts – they’re effectively invisible. This may just be me of course – my mother seems to read everything on every page!

Picture credit: here.

Leave a Reply

